JohnnyWingnut

Taking down worlds…one Kool-Aid drinker at a time

Rand Paul makes a deal with the Devil

Tis a sad day, folks. I hang my head in shame. But it’s really Senator Paul who should be feeling guilty, throwing his lot in with an establishment, career politician like Mitch McConnell? For a guy whose image was virtually made by the Tea Party, a guy who has come to represent dissent and the anti-establishment, a guy who was the people’s senator, this is disgusting..

and I am disgusted. His endorsement of McConnell amounts to a knife in the back of every conservative in Kentucky and abroad. It’s hard to fathom. But I suppose this decision was his Robert the Bruce moment. I can see his advisers asking him the rhetorical question, “How does it help us to join the side that will lose?” In this case, the side that will lose is Matt Bevin.

The very reason people like me supported the candidacy of elected officials like Paul and others is because of their unflinching commitment to principles. Now we see that Paul has compromised his principles for the sake of political expediency. I don’t know about you, but I feel betrayed. And I’m betting those few mavericks left on the hill are feeling the sting of Paul’s decision as well. You know Matt Bevin is feeling it.

Republican Liberty Caucus chairman David Adams, who launched Paul’s Senate bid, has said that Paul’s endorsement of McConnell won’t hurt Paul with the Tea Party base. I disagree. I think Adams underestimates the power of expectations. The people who supported Paul, thought they knew him. Now they know better and they won’t forget this any time soon.

I’m reminded of a scene in the movie Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves in which Friar Tuck says to a fellow man of the cloth who has betrayed the virtues he vowed to uphold:

You sold your soul to Satan, Your Grace.
You accused innocent men of witchcraft and let them die.
Brother Friar, you would not strike a fellow man of the cloth.
No, I wouldn’t.
I’ll help you pack for your journey.
You’ll need lots of gold to help you on your way.
You’re a very rich man.
This, too.
And there!
Here’s thirty pieces of silver…
to pay the devil on your way to hell!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

